Flight of Fancy

Flight of Fancy started with the purchase of the lovely piece of fabric in the centre featuring a crane in flight. Of course when I got it home I didn’t want to cut it up, so it sat in a drawer for ages until I could figure out what to do with it. Meanwhile I made Images of Japan and at the end I had fabric over which matched perfectly the unused piece of fabric in the drawer.

I started to make a small wall hanging to try to use some of it up but I hadn’t bargained on ‘Him Indoors’ seeing it and saying ‘That would make a lovely centre piece for a bigger quilt’. In my heart I knew he was right, so back to the drawing board I went.

I added a couple of new fabrics because I didn’t want it to look like a copy of Images of Japan and tried out one or two of the idea’s that I had not used when I made the previous quilt. I hope that you like the result.

Flight of Fancy won 2nd prize for small wall hanging at Quilts UK 2009.

Flight of Fancy

Flight of Fancy centre panel small.

Botan (Peony) version one small.  Japanese symbol (laugh) small.  Botan (Peony) version two small.

Kiku (Chrysanthemum) small.  Icho (Gingko) small.  Kan (Metal drawer handle) small.

More Flight of Fancy images.

Leave a Reply

